Edinburgh University Feminists

Welcome to Feminists of Edinburgh University, the Facebook group of Edinburgh University Feminist Society!

We’re a society based at University of Edinburgh which aims to raise awareness of oppression of self-defining women and non-binary genders through discussions and social events and to campaign on feminist issues. We generally meet on Sunday evenings in the Balcony Room in Teviot for discussion, nachos and all sorts of fun and feminism - keep an eye on this group or join our mailing list (http://groupspaces.com/women-of-the-world/) to keep updated on upcoming events.

This Facebook group, meanwhile, is here to promote FemSoc’s events and to provide a place for discussion and organisation between them for members and for those who may not be able to attend.

What are we getting at? Basically, it’s that this group is not FemSoc. Though it’s an important resource, we don’t think it’s representative of the society, and we’d like to encourage everyone who can to come along to our events and see what it’s really like!

If you'd just like to part of the group here (it can be an excellent resource!), please make sure you have read through our safe space policy which is a pinned post within the group. It's a bit long but it's super important that everyone who would like to be part of this group understands and abides by it.

If you like coming to our events, or sharing ideas and articles on this group you can become a member of FemSoc through EUSA’s website:


Anyone can join, student or nonstudent (you will have to login as a guest if you are a non-student), and it’s completely free. Once you’re a member you can stand and vote in all our general meetings. You do not have to be a member to become a part of the facebook group or attend events.

FemSoc is run by committee, whose members are elected in second semester each year.

The committee for 2014-15 is:

President: Naomi Lauren
Secretary: Brekhna Aftab
Treasurer: Chris Belous
Events and Fundraising Officer: Ellie Brayne-Whyatt
Campaigns Officer: Victoria Zowie
Publicity Officer: Olivia Donoghue
Welfare and Accessibility Officer: Lorin Paterson
Ordinary Members: Sally Duckworth, Kirsty Haigh, Hannah Jones
Freshers Ordinary Member: (TBC)

Committee meetings are held weekly and are open to any member of the society!

The society operates on a non-hierarchical basis, so if you have any questions, feel free to get in touch with any member of the committee or email [email protected]

Find our website at: http://edunifeminists.wordpress.com/
Twitter: @EdUniFeminists