The Independent Film Trust

The Independent Film Trust is a UK-registered charity which was set up to advance the cause of independent film-making. It works with groups such as the British Independent Film Awards and the Raindance Film Festival in fostering, promoting and celebrating independent film-making in the UK.

The IFT is run by the Board of Trustees, which has been chaired since 2006 by Neil McCartney. It was founded in 2004 by Elliot Grove.

Its patrons include Sir Alan Parker, Faye Dunaway, Terence Davies, Bill Forsyth, John Irvin, Mike Leigh, Samantha Morton, Tim Roth and Nick Broomfield.

The IFT supports ventures and initiatives that encourage an interest in film production and help emerging film-makers to develop and express themselves, through financing activities such as basic film courses for the disadvantaged and the provision of training scholarships for those who have demonstrated talent but need monetary or other help.

In 2010, for example, the IFT ran an eight-week filmmaking course for individuals with mental health issues, working jointly with the Raindance organisation and Westminster Mind. In September one of the these films - Night Music, a 12-minute animation by Paul Jacques - was selected for inclusion in the Shorts programme of the Raindance Film Festival.