Silliman University National Writers Workshop Fellows

Established by the late Dr. Edilberto K. Tiempo and Dr. Edith Lopez Tiempo as the Silliman National Writers Workshop in 1962, the three-week live-in summer workshop for Philippine writers (writing in and from English, as well as in any Philippine regional languages) aims to provide opportunities for interaction between a panel of established writers and critics, and the selected writing fellows.

The bases for interaction are the manuscripts in any of the literary genres submitted by the writing fellows for reading and analysis. The panel of discussion is composed of Dr. Edith L. Tiempo, the director of the program, critics, and creative writers of the Creative Writing Foundation, and visiting writers and critics from other countries. Panelists have included Nick Joaquin, Gregorio Brillantes, F. Sionil Jose, Alejandro Roces, Gémino Abad, Ophelia Alcantara-Dimalanta, Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo, among other top writers in the country.

Each manuscript receives varied appraisal and interpretation from the panel, allowing the fellows deeper insight into their own performance, the range and limits of their freedom and responsibility as literary artists as well as their mastery of techniques in the craft of creative writing. Years of application of this analytical procedure have proven its efficacy in guiding young writers into self-discovery of the rigorous demands of the craft and the pleasures of the art of poetry, fiction, and drama.